RT 5.0.0 [error]: Can't locate object method "child" via package "Menu"

Greetings RT Users
I am new to RT and have recently upgraded a 4.4.4 system left behind by my predecessor to 5.0.0 with minimal issues.

I am attempting to view an asset using the SelfService portal with an unprivileged user. I have changed “view asset”, “view catalogue”, and “view custom field values” into just about every possible combination through groups and roles.

Below is the error I get with every attempt:

[7541] [Tue Sep 29 17:48:21 2020] [error]: Can’t locate object method “child” via package “Menu” (perhaps you forgot to load “Menu”?) at /opt/rt5/sbin/…/lib/RT/Interface/Web/MenuBuilder.pm line 1642.

Stack:
[/opt/rt5/sbin/…/lib/RT/Interface/Web/MenuBuilder.pm:1642]
[/opt/rt5/share/html/Elements/Tabs:63]
[/opt/rt5/share/html/SelfService/Elements/Header:49]
[/opt/rt5/share/html/SelfService/Asset/Display.html:48]
[/opt/rt5/sbin/…/lib/RT/Interface/Web.pm:707]
[/opt/rt5/sbin/…/lib/RT/Interface/Web.pm:389]
[/opt/rt5/share/html/autohandler:53] (/opt/rt5/sbin/…/lib/RT/Interface/Web/Handler.pm:209)

If I elevate the user to privileged, they are able to see the asset as expected but they are also able to see users and groups outside their own and this is not acceptable.

I am hoping that someone here has either run into this issue or has an idea of what I might need to do.

I am fine with the elevated permissions and interface, if I can disable the user/group view/search abilities.

Did you ever resolve this? We have the same issue. I’m GUESSING it’s a permission issue, but not sure…

negative. I am still looking as well.

Any chance you installed RT 5 in the same location as RT 4?

This is an upgrade from an rt4 instance. I haven’t had any problems with it other than this singular error and it wasn’t a gating item so I moved past, hoping to find a solution once I rounded back to that point.