User duplication

To all,

I've noticed that RT, in this case 3.4.4, allows duplicate UserIds. 

I’ve got a user that is in the system with 3 Ids that ALL look exactly
the same. One with an E_mail address, the other 2 without and they were
ALL created by the system. I have three questions:
1) Is this normal or OK?
2) what can I do to stop this behavior?
3) How can I get rid of the two USerIDs I do NOT want? (SQL?)

Well, maybe that's 4 questions. Anyway, does anyone have any experience 

in this situation and can you give me some advice on the above? Thanks.

Kenn
LBNL

Hi Kenneth;

I am guessing you mean the Name column and not the Id column within the
Users table, (if its the Id column then you need to check the sql
engine, that field is pri auto_incremented and the sql engine should n’t
be allowing duplicate to happen) …
I have seen a duplicate Name, in my case it was due to someone changing
things from mysql (which is wrong), it may also happen with some sort of
import.
what I did to fix is by using sql I changed the name:
update Users set Name = x where Name = Y (for each one you do not want
to keep); then used RT to remove group membership if any exist then
disable the users …
then if you wish delete them from the database using sql or better still
use rtx-shredder (if it works for you).

Roy
Kenneth Crocker wrote:

Or, if they have any tickets associated with the other IDs, use
http://search.cpan.org/~jesse/RT-Extension-MergeUsers-0.02/ to merge
them as far as the system in concerned.

Roy El-Hames wrote:

Roy,

You're right. It is ONLY the name column, but I still don't like it. It 

gets confusing. When someone wants to add a watcher and they get 3
possibilities, what happens when they select one of the UserIds that has
no E_mail address associated with it? It gets messy, so I AM going to
have to see how many more of these exist and then run some SQL to change
the references to the correct IDs and delete the ones I don’t want. I
don’t think we have rtx-shredder and since we are currently testing
3.6.4, I’m not sure I want it unless it works with the latest version.
Is rtx-shredder working on 3.6.4 yet? Anyway Roy, thanks again for your
help. I’m not sure how to prevent this from happening in the future but
if there was a way, it would keep me from having to maintain the USERS
table on a routine basis.

Kenn
LBNLOn 9/14/2007 8:46 AM, Roy El-Hames wrote:

Hi Kenneth;

I am guessing you mean the Name column and not the Id column within the
Users table, (if its the Id column then you need to check the sql
engine, that field is pri auto_incremented and the sql engine should n’t
be allowing duplicate to happen) …
I have seen a duplicate Name, in my case it was due to someone changing
things from mysql (which is wrong), it may also happen with some sort of
import.
what I did to fix is by using sql I changed the name:
update Users set Name = x where Name = Y (for each one you do not want
to keep); then used RT to remove group membership if any exist then
disable the users …
then if you wish delete them from the database using sql or better still
use rtx-shredder (if it works for you).

Roy
Kenneth Crocker wrote:

To all,

I've noticed that RT, in this case 3.4.4, allows duplicate 

UserIds. I’ve got a user that is in the system with 3 Ids that ALL
look exactly the same. One with an E_mail address, the other 2 without
and they were ALL created by the system. I have three questions:
1) Is this normal or OK?
2) what can I do to stop this behavior?
3) How can I get rid of the two USerIDs I do NOT want? (SQL?)

Well, maybe that's 4 questions. Anyway, does anyone have any 

experience in this situation and can you give me some advice on the
above? Thanks.

Kenn
LBNL


http://lists.bestpractical.com/cgi-bin/mailman/listinfo/rt-users

Community help: http://wiki.bestpractical.com
Commercial support: sales@bestpractical.com

Discover RT’s hidden secrets with RT Essentials from O’Reilly Media.
Buy a copy at http://rtbook.bestpractical.com

Drew,

That sounds like a good idea. Should save a lot of SQL coding. How does 

the merge work? Does it ultimate delete the old USER records or disable
them?

Kenn
LBNLOn 9/14/2007 9:14 AM, Drew Barnes wrote:

Or, if they have any tickets associated with the other IDs, use
http://search.cpan.org/~jesse/RT-Extension-MergeUsers-0.02/ to merge
them as far as the system in concerned.

Roy El-Hames wrote:

Hi Kenneth;

I am guessing you mean the Name column and not the Id column within
the Users table, (if its the Id column then you need to check the sql
engine, that field is pri auto_incremented and the sql engine should
n’t be allowing duplicate to happen) …
I have seen a duplicate Name, in my case it was due to someone
changing things from mysql (which is wrong), it may also happen with
some sort of import.
what I did to fix is by using sql I changed the name:
update Users set Name = x where Name = Y (for each one you do not want
to keep); then used RT to remove group membership if any exist then
disable the users …
then if you wish delete them from the database using sql or better
still use rtx-shredder (if it works for you).

Roy
Kenneth Crocker wrote:

To all,

I've noticed that RT, in this case 3.4.4, allows duplicate

UserIds. I’ve got a user that is in the system with 3 Ids that ALL
look exactly the same. One with an E_mail address, the other 2
without and they were ALL created by the system. I have three questions:
1) Is this normal or OK?
2) what can I do to stop this behavior?
3) How can I get rid of the two USerIDs I do NOT want? (SQL?)

Well, maybe that's 4 questions. Anyway, does anyone have any

experience in this situation and can you give me some advice on the
above? Thanks.

Kenn
LBNL


http://lists.bestpractical.com/cgi-bin/mailman/listinfo/rt-users

Community help: http://wiki.bestpractical.com
Commercial support: sales@bestpractical.com

Discover RT’s hidden secrets with RT Essentials from O’Reilly Media.
Buy a copy at http://rtbook.bestpractical.com


http://lists.bestpractical.com/cgi-bin/mailman/listinfo/rt-users

Community help: http://wiki.bestpractical.com
Commercial support: sales@bestpractical.com

Discover RT’s hidden secrets with RT Essentials from O’Reilly Media.
Buy a copy at http://rtbook.bestpractical.com

IIRC, you can select which user to merge the others into. I do not
know, off the top of my head, if it permanently deletes the users, but
from what I can recall, if you view a merged user, it ultimately takes
you to the user you merged into.

That is rather circular and may not be correct, since it has been a
while since I went through and did our merging.

Kenneth Crocker wrote: