Silent Assign and Resolve

Hello,

Is there a way to modify the Templates/Scrip so that when a ticket is
Assigned and Resolved at the same time, the “This ticket has been assigned
to you” e-mail is not sent to the assigned user?

In our case we have users that reply via e-mail and don’t use the web
interface very often, every so often I go through and assign/resolve any
outstanding tickets, and the notifications can lead to confusion.

(I did try to a script that allows assign/close via e-mail, but I couldn’t
get it to work…)

On RT 3.8.8

Thanks,

Rob

Rob,

You could modify your “notify XX on Resolve” scrip to stop if the new
status value is resolve and the old one was new, unless you also open the
ticket and then assign it. You have to consider what state the ticket is
“ALWAYS” in when you assign/resolve it. Then use that condition in your
scrip.

KennOn Mon, Apr 8, 2013 at 8:05 AM, Rob Lister rob@lonap.net wrote:

Hello,

Is there a way to modify the Templates/Scrip so that when a ticket is
Assigned and Resolved at the same time, the “This ticket has been assigned
to you” e-mail is not sent to the assigned user?

In our case we have users that reply via e-mail and don’t use the web
interface very often, every so often I go through and assign/resolve any
outstanding tickets, and the notifications can lead to confusion.

(I did try to a script that allows assign/close via e-mail, but I couldn’t
get it to work…)

On RT 3.8.8

Thanks,

Rob

Or create a custom field which you set to a boolean value (yes/no, 1/0, or
something like that) and base your on resolve condition based on that. That
way your status independent.2013/4/9 Kenneth Crocker kenn.crocker@gmail.com

Rob,

You could modify your “notify XX on Resolve” scrip to stop if the new
status value is resolve and the old one was new, unless you also open the
ticket and then assign it. You have to consider what state the ticket is
“ALWAYS” in when you assign/resolve it. Then use that condition in your
scrip.

Kenn

On Mon, Apr 8, 2013 at 8:05 AM, Rob Lister rob@lonap.net wrote:

Hello,

Is there a way to modify the Templates/Scrip so that when a ticket is
Assigned and Resolved at the same time, the “This ticket has been assigned
to you” e-mail is not sent to the assigned user?

In our case we have users that reply via e-mail and don’t use the web
interface very often, every so often I go through and assign/resolve any
outstanding tickets, and the notifications can lead to confusion.

(I did try to a script that allows assign/close via e-mail, but I couldn’t
get it to work…)

On RT 3.8.8

Thanks,

Rob

Bart G.

Yes, I understand that this is possible… just not how to actually do it.

Any good examples / snippets that I can look at? Everything I’ve tried to far doesn’t seem to work.

Thanks,

Rob

Robert ListerOn 9 Apr 2013, at 07:02, Kenneth Crocker kenn.crocker@gmail.com wrote:

Rob,

You could modify your “notify XX on Resolve” scrip to stop if the new status value is resolve and the old one was new, unless you also open the ticket and then assign it. You have to consider what state the ticket is “ALWAYS” in when you assign/resolve it. Then use that condition in your scrip.

Kenn