Shredding users

Hi

Got a quick query regarding the shredder. Im trying to move a users cases to
a different user and then shred the first user, using:

rt-shredder --plugin “Users=name,user;status,any;replace_relations,user-old”

This does everything I want except it still shreds the tickets, whereas I
only wanted to get rid of the original user account and preserver the
tickets with another user. Does anybody know if theres a way to do this
through the shredder tool?

regards
Garry

Dr Garry Booth
IT Services
Loughborough University

I guess your best bet would be to change the owner of
the tickets first
before running the shredder tool?

Andy

Hi Andy
Id like to change the histroy in the ticket so user becomes user-old
throughout, sadly changing the ticket owner doesnt do this :-[

regards
Garry

ps I tested this on 3.8.1 (shouldve mentioned in the original email - doh!)

This does everything I want except it still shreds the tickets, whereas I
only wanted to get rid of the original user account and preserver the
tickets with another user. Does anybody know if theres a way to do this
through the shredder tool?

I guess your best bet would be to change the owner of the tickets first
before running the shredder tool?

Andy

Id like to change the histroy in the ticket so user becomes user-old
throughout, sadly changing the ticket owner doesnt do this :-[

Then I suspect shredder is the wrong tool.

Have you considered just renaming all the users using the RT API? (ok,
I’m making a little bit of an assumption that you can do this, but I’d
guess you can).

Andy

G.Booth,

You could also use the SQL native to your DataBase and do it manually.
However, keep in mind that it is a RISKY business. You must be sure that
whatever UserID you change the info to REALLY exists, or your history
will break when looking at a ticket.

Kenn
LBNLOn 11/17/2009 8:02 AM, Andy Millar wrote:

On Tue, 2009-11-17 at 15:50 +0000, G.Booth wrote:

Id like to change the histroy in the ticket so user becomes user-old
throughout, sadly changing the ticket owner doesnt do this :-[

Then I suspect shredder is the wrong tool.

Have you considered just renaming all the users using the RT API? (ok,
I’m making a little bit of an assumption that you can do this, but I’d
guess you can).

Andy


http://lists.bestpractical.com/cgi-bin/mailman/listinfo/rt-users

Community help: http://wiki.bestpractical.com
Commercial support: sales@bestpractical.com

Discover RT’s hidden secrets with RT Essentials from O’Reilly Media.
Buy a copy at http://rtbook.bestpractical.com

G.Booth,

You could also use the SQL native to your DataBase and
do it manually. However, keep in mind that it is a RISKY
business. You must be sure that whatever UserID you
change the info to REALLY exists, or your history will
break when looking at a ticket.

Kenn
LBNL

Hi Kenn

Im trying to avoid that if I can, for just the reasons you list.
I can’t figure out what the “replace_relations” part of the shredder is for
if not this. If you dump the sql as you run the shred and re-inject it into
the database, it seems (at first glance) to have done exactly what I want
and all i need to do is now delete the original user. It seems very odd that
it would let you go to all of the trouble to rename everything only to then
wipe all evidence of it.

regards
Garry

G.Booth,

Yep, that seems odd. I’ve done most of my changes to the USERS Table
manually in the past. WAY too intense! I’m hoping to move over to
shredder with the 3.8.6 version we’re about to test.

Kenn
LBNLOn 11/17/2009 9:56 AM, G.Booth wrote:

On Tue, 17 Nov 2009 08:30:49 -0800 Ken Crocker kfcrocker@lbl.gov wrote:

G.Booth,

You could also use the SQL native to your DataBase and do it
manually. However, keep in mind that it is a RISKY business. You must
be sure that whatever UserID you change the info to REALLY exists, or
your history will break when looking at a ticket.

Kenn
LBNL

Hi Kenn

Im trying to avoid that if I can, for just the reasons you list.
I can’t figure out what the “replace_relations” part of the shredder
is for if not this. If you dump the sql as you run the shred and
re-inject it into the database, it seems (at first glance) to have
done exactly what I want and all i need to do is now delete the
original user. It seems very odd that it would let you go to all of
the trouble to rename everything only to then wipe all evidence of it.

regards
Garry