RT5.0.5 Decrypt SMIME email received as CC

RT fails to decrypt mails where the queue’s address is not in the “To” header.

Looking at sub _Decrypt in /lib/RT/Crypt/SMIME.pm I find

my @addresses =
        grep !$seen{lc $_}++, map $_->address, map Email::Address->parse($_),
        grep length && defined, @{$args{'Recipients'}};

my $opts = RT->Config->Get('SMIME');

my @providers = map { ( '-provider', $_ ) } @{ $opts->{'Providers'} };

my ($buf, $encrypted_to, %res);

foreach my $address ( @addresses ) {
        my $file = $self->CheckKeyring( Key => $address, For => 'Encryption' );
        unless ( $file ) {
            my $keyring = $opts->{'Keyring'};
            $RT::Logger->debug("No key found for $address in $keyring directory");
            next;
        }

I am not a coder and would be very pleased if there was any perl guy who would help me letting RT parse the CC field of received mails like it does with the Recipients list.

Thanks very much!

Before diving into the code, are you sure that the incoming message is encrypted using a key that you have associated with that Queue’s CorrespondAddress or CommentAddress? If not (for example if it is encrypted using keys only known to the “To” recipient and unknown to you/RT) then there’s not much you can do.

Thanks for looking into!

Yes, we are very sure, as we fetch all mail from an IMAP folder. There we have full access to the content.

This mail was addressed to two other people and us in CC.

[367780] [Fri Apr 12 10:28:02 2024] [debug]: No key found for email1@example.com in /opt/rt5/var/data/smime directory (/opt/rt5/sbin/../lib/RT/Crypt/SMIME.pm:672)
[367780] [Fri Apr 12 10:28:02 2024] [debug]: No key found for email2@example.com in /opt/rt5/var/data/smime directory (/opt/rt5/sbin/../lib/RT/Crypt/SMIME.pm:672)
[367780] [Fri Apr 12 10:28:02 2024] [error]: openssl exited with error code 4 and error: Error decrypting PKCS#7 structure