RT2 - 1.3.79-test1 - removing privileged user flag - bug?


#1

I’m not sure if this is a bug, but gonna report it anyhow…

  • logged in as root
  • under configuration, users
  • i click on a user, lets say alesh
  • the user has Privileged user. (Can be granted rights.) flag CHECKED
  • i uncheck the flag
  • click again on users, the user disappears from the list of users
  • i didn’t manage to get the user in the GUI in any way but to manually
    update the Users table, setting the Privileged field to from 0 to 1.
  • re-clicking the users link after manually updating the flag in the
    table, shows the user back, with all info.

If this is actually a feature :slight_smile: and not a bug, please point me in the
right direction to get back the user, otherwise lemme know if it’s a bug.

A.


#2

If this is actually a feature :slight_smile: and not a bug, please point me in the
right direction to get back the user, otherwise lemme know if it’s a bug.

I think its a little of both. I believe the idea was that a given site
could have thousands of users, only a handful of which are “privileged”,
which seems to be “can do things in rt”.

If you notice on the Admin/Users page there are 2 search fields at the
bottom. Pick one, put in the appropriate info, then click submit. It’ll
find the user for you.

This behavior isn’t entirely intuitive, so it might be worth suggesting
something better. For example sub-tabs for ‘privileged user’, ‘enabled
user’ and maybe ‘disabled user’ might help.

-Matt


#3

FWIW, there’s a known bug in -test1’s mail gateway that will be fixed in
1.3.79 proper.

http://fsck.com/rt2/Admin/Users/

lists only privileged users by default. Below the list, there’s a search
box to find other users. Enter the user’s username or email in the
apropriate box and click ‘go’.

Presto.On Wed, May 23, 2001 at 05:02:21PM +0200, Alesh Mustar wrote:

I’m not sure if this is a bug, but gonna report it anyhow…

  • logged in as root
  • under configuration, users
  • i click on a user, lets say alesh
  • the user has Privileged user. (Can be granted rights.) flag CHECKED
  • i uncheck the flag
  • click again on users, the user disappears from the list of users
  • i didn’t manage to get the user in the GUI in any way but to manually
    update the Users table, setting the Privileged field to from 0 to 1.
  • re-clicking the users link after manually updating the flag in the
    table, shows the user back, with all info.

If this is actually a feature :slight_smile: and not a bug, please point me in the
right direction to get back the user, otherwise lemme know if it’s a bug.

A.


Rt-devel mailing list
Rt-devel@lists.fsck.com
http://lists.fsck.com/mailman/listinfo/rt-devel

jesse reed vincent – root@eruditorum.orgjesse@fsck.com
70EBAC90: 2A07 FC22 7DB4 42C1 9D71 0108 41A3 3FB3 70EB AC90

“Mary had a crypto key / She kept it in escrow
And everything that Mary said / The Feds were sure to know” – Sam Simpson


#4

Same thing with the queues?

Unchecking => Enabled (Unchecking this box disables this queue) the
queue disapears.

A.

Alesh Mustar wrote:


#5

Disabled/Enabled is roughly identical to ‘Deleted’/‘Existing’.
There is currently no easy way through the UI to undelete queues.
(though if you know the queue’s id, you can trivially construct the right URL)
This won’t change before 2.0. if you want, submit the bug to
rt-2.0-bugs and I’ll peg it against a future release.

    -jOn Wed, May 23, 2001 at 05:14:34PM +0200, Alesh Mustar wrote:

Same thing with the queues?

Unchecking => Enabled (Unchecking this box disables this queue) the
queue disapears.

A.

Alesh Mustar wrote:

I’m not sure if this is a bug, but gonna report it anyhow…

  • logged in as root
  • under configuration, users
  • i click on a user, lets say alesh
  • the user has Privileged user. (Can be granted rights.) flag CHECKED
  • i uncheck the flag
  • click again on users, the user disappears from the list of users
  • i didn’t manage to get the user in the GUI in any way but to
    manually update the Users table, setting the Privileged field to from
    0 to 1.
  • re-clicking the users link after manually updating the flag in the
    table, shows the user back, with all info.

If this is actually a feature :slight_smile: and not a bug, please point me in
the right direction to get back the user, otherwise lemme know if it’s
a bug.

A.


Rt-devel mailing list
Rt-devel@lists.fsck.com
http://lists.fsck.com/mailman/listinfo/rt-devel


Rt-devel mailing list
Rt-devel@lists.fsck.com
http://lists.fsck.com/mailman/listinfo/rt-devel

jesse reed vincent – root@eruditorum.orgjesse@fsck.com
70EBAC90: 2A07 FC22 7DB4 42C1 9D71 0108 41A3 3FB3 70EB AC90

There are no supercomputer applications that are solvable that cannot be solved
in finite time using a fucking TRS-80 with approprite disk/tape drives. Zero.
-Tanj