Re-assigning tickets

Hi,

Just ran into the problem that nobody (not even superuser) can reassign
a request in a single shot. They have to steal then reassign.

I noticed a workaround for superusers on the wiki
(http://wiki.bestpractical.com/view/AllowSuperUserToReassignTickets) but
has anyone considered adding a ‘ReassignTicket’ right to allow this
check to be overridden, thereby solving it in a more sane way? Or is
there some workflow problem I’m not thinking about when I suggest this.

The real scenario behind this is dealing efficiently with staff
absences; ideally we’d like to be able to say that user X has complete
rights over tickets owned by user Y, but that’s a more complicated thing
to code up - adding a simple ACL so that user X doesn’t have to steal
the ticket from Y first in order to assign it to Z should be trivial in
comparison.

If I made the change, is it likely that it’d be incorporated into the
core?

Thanks in advance,

Olly

IMPORTANT NOTICE: The contents of this email and any attachments are confidential and may also be privileged. If you are not the intended recipient, please notify the sender immediately and do not disclose the contents to any other person, use it for any purpose, or store or copy the information in any medium. Thank you.

If I made the change, is it likely that it’d be incorporated into the core?

No idea about core, but I would apply it.

Richard

Hi,

Just ran into the problem that nobody (not even superuser) can reassign a
request in a single shot. They have to steal then reassign.

And that’s how it needs to be to make ownership make any sense at all as
a ticket locking mechanism…

And that’s how it needs to be to make ownership make any sense at all as
a ticket locking mechanism…

Locking on the user level can make sense, but for people who need to
re-assign tasks on a regular basis, it’s an extra step which creates more
work.
I.e. if people have the right to do this something in a particular organization
shouldn’t the tool, RT in this case, adapt to that?

Richard

And that’s how it needs to be to make ownership make any sense at all as
a ticket locking mechanism…

Locking on the user level can make sense, but for people who need to
re-assign tasks on a regular basis, it’s an extra step which creates more
work.
I.e. if people have the right to do this something in a particular organization
shouldn’t the tool, RT in this case, adapt to that?

It’s easy to build an extension to do “force owner change”. I’d strongly
recommend that if you build such a thing you not make it happen any
time the user changes the owner, but only when they click a particular
button. (You can use bulk update’s “force owner change” option as a
template).