ModifyTicket required to close tickets?

I have repeatedly found problems where people can mistakenly affect
large batches of tickets. The answer provided by Best Practical has
been to remove ModifyTicket right from people. So after upgrading to
3.8.4 I went ahead with this.

Now nobody can close tickets. Yep, that’s right – can’t even mark
them resolved. Brilliant. Obviously this is a non-op, and I had to
give the ModifyTicket right back to everyone.

BPS: what kind of patches will you accept to break ModifyTicket into
some distinct rights groups so that normal operations: close tickets,
reassign tickets, etc can be done by users, without giving them the
rights to batch modify and update hundreds of tickets?

Jo Rhett
Net Consonance : consonant endings by net philanthropy, open source
and other randomness

In this case I want this given to all Privileged users. (sorry,
should have clarified that “user” meant Privileged user)

The vast majority of our tickets remain owned by Nobody. We only
assign them if only one person can accomplish it. Day to day normal
support tickets remain unowned. (Given that when someone owns a
ticket, nobody else can simply reassign it to themselves without a
multi-step process, this is how we work)

Obviously I can change that, but forcing people to take ownership of a
ticket (multiple steps) just to answer a customer and close the ticket
is bad. Never make it harder for a support person to do their job :-(On Jul 27, 2009, at 11:13 AM, Joachim Thuau wrote:

Shouldn’t this be something like:

  • Remove ModifyTicket from "everyone.
  • add "ModifyTicket to “Requestor” and “Owner”.

That would allow a user (the requestor, supposedly), the right to
modify the tickets he/she has created.

Jok

-----Original Message-----
From: rt-users-bounces@lists.bestpractical.com [mailto:rt-users-
bounces@lists.bestpractical.com] On Behalf Of Jo Rhett
Sent: Friday, July 24, 2009 3:42 PM
To: RT Users
Subject: [rt-users] ModifyTicket required to close tickets?

I have repeatedly found problems where people can mistakenly affect
large batches of tickets. The answer provided by Best Practical has
been to remove ModifyTicket right from people. So after upgrading to
3.8.4 I went ahead with this.

Now nobody can close tickets. Yep, that’s right – can’t even mark
them resolved. Brilliant. Obviously this is a non-op, and I had to
give the ModifyTicket right back to everyone.

BPS: what kind of patches will you accept to break ModifyTicket into
some distinct rights groups so that normal operations: close tickets,
reassign tickets, etc can be done by users, without giving them the
rights to batch modify and update hundreds of tickets?


Jo Rhett
Net Consonance : consonant endings by net philanthropy, open source
and other randomness


http://lists.bestpractical.com/cgi-bin/mailman/listinfo/rt-users

Community help: http://wiki.bestpractical.com
Commercial support: sales@bestpractical.com

Discover RT’s hidden secrets with RT Essentials from O’Reilly Media.
Buy a copy at http://rtbook.bestpractical.com

Jo Rhett
Net Consonance : consonant endings by net philanthropy, open source
and other randomness

In this case I want this given to all Privileged users. (sorry,
should have clarified that “user” meant Privileged user)

The vast majority of our tickets remain owned by Nobody. We only
assign them if only one person can accomplish it. Day to day normal
support tickets remain unowned. (Given that when someone owns a
ticket, nobody else can simply reassign it to themselves without a
multi-step process, this is how we work)

If you have StealTicket you can take it from someone in one click.

Obviously I can change that, but forcing people to take ownership of a
ticket (multiple steps) just to answer a customer and close the ticket
is bad. Never make it harder for a support person to do their job :frowning:

If you have TakeTicket there should be links to own a ticket in one
click.

Taking a ticket from person A and giving it to person B is indeed a
long laborious process, but grabbing a ticket to work on shouldn’t be.

And, to confirm, ModifyTicket is required to resolve a ticket.
ModifyTicket has long been up for discussion for breaking into
multiple rights, but it needs to be done right and be backwards
compatible.

-kevin

Obviously I can change that, but forcing people to take ownership
of a
ticket (multiple steps) just to answer a customer and close the
ticket
is bad. Never make it harder for a support person to do their
job :frowning:

If you have TakeTicket there should be links to own a ticket in one
click.
Taking a ticket from person A and giving it to person B is indeed a
long laborious process, but grabbing a ticket to work on shouldn’t be.

The problem is that anywhere from 2 to 22 people can work on a ticket
throughout it’s lifetime, and it’s not a “think about who owns it kind
of thing”. It’s just “in the queue, answer it next” methodology for
most tickets.

So a person will click to open a ticket, then click to reply… then
realize they need to take ownership to resolve it and have to back
out, steal the ticket and then reply.

And, to confirm, ModifyTicket is required to resolve a ticket.
ModifyTicket has long been up for discussion for breaking into
multiple rights, but it needs to be done right and be backwards
compatible.

Because this topic matters to me a lot, if you’d be willing to toss
out requirements for the patch I might be able to take it on next
week, after I do the long-delayed mail headers rewrite.

Jo Rhett
Net Consonance : consonant endings by net philanthropy, open source
and other randomness