Making Changes to RTIR_Config.pm

From the desk of Nicole A. Powell…Begin forwarded message:

From: Nicole Powell nicolepowell85@gmail.com
Date: December 15, 2015 at 2:45:07 PM CST
To: rtir@lists.bestpractical.com
Subject: Making Changes to RTIR_Config.pm

I am looking for the RTIR_Config.pm file but I don’t have it with RT4.0 and RTIR3.2. I only have RT_Config.pm and Rt_SiteConfig.pm.

The feature I’m specifically looking to turn off I the SetBlockStatus. By default if you close an incident the block is listed as removed but I don’t want to change automatically. How can I do this?

From the desk of Nicole A. Powell…

Hi Nicole,

A couple of answers for you:

  • On versions, RTIR 3.2 runs on RT 4.2, RTIR 3.0 runs on RT 4.0.
    Crossing versions can cause issues. You can find the version notes in
    the README for reference:

https://bestpractical.com/docs/rtir/3.2/README.html

  • For setting configuration, you can create a new file named
    RTIR_SiteConfig.pm and put it in the same directory as your
    RT_SiteConfig.pm, which should be the etc directory wherever RT is
    installed. Some details here:

https://bestpractical.com/docs/rtir/3.2/RTIR_Config.html

However, I don’t think there is a configuration option to address your
specific question.

On the specific behavior you asked about, are you closing Incidents
while there is still a block active? RTIR uses the Incident ticket as
the central hub of all activity for an incident, so it’s designed to
keep the incident open as long as any linked child tickets are open.
However, when you select Actions -> Resolve to resolve an incident, it
drops you in an update page will all children also available for status
and message updates. This makes it easy to resolve the incident and
linked children all at once. Maybe this status update is what’s setting
the block as removed?

If you uncheck the block update and try to resolve the incident, you’ll
see a message " Status of the Incident left unchanged; not all children
were updated." The idea is the incident shouldn’t be resolved if the
block is still outstanding. However, you could resolve other child
tickets like Investigations while waiting for a block to be removed. You
can find some detail here:

https://bestpractical.com/docs/rtir/3.2/Tutorial.html#Resolving-an-Incident

JimOn 12/15/15 6:25 PM, Nicole Powell wrote:

From the desk of Nicole A. Powell…

Begin forwarded message:

From: Nicole Powell <nicolepowell85@gmail.com
mailto:nicolepowell85@gmail.com>
Date: December 15, 2015 at 2:45:07 PM CST
To: rtir@lists.bestpractical.com mailto:rtir@lists.bestpractical.com
Subject: Making Changes to RTIR_Config.pm

I am looking for the RTIR_Config.pm file but I don’t have it with
RT4.0 and RTIR3.2. I only have RT_Config.pm and Rt_SiteConfig.pm.

The feature I’m specifically looking to turn off I the
SetBlockStatus. By default if you close an incident the block is
listed as removed but I don’t want to change automatically. How can I
do this?

From the desk of Nicole A. Powell…

Jim,

Thanks for your detailed response.

To answer: essentially I want to make a block active and keep it active until I manually close it. In my environment, an incident is resolved/closed but the block may remain active for 3 months thereafter. From a status/metrics perspective I wouldn’t want to keep the entire incident open because nothing else needs to be done from a protection/defensive perspective.

So yes when I change the status of an incident to ‘resolved’ it changes the status of all child tickets to the corresponding state (closed/resolved). I understand that the idea is that the incident shouldn’t be resolved if the block is active but that’s not the case in every environment; similarly for incident reports as well. My understanding is that there is a mapping in the RTIR_Config.pm file that can be changed and that’s what I’m looking to do.

From the desk of Nicole A. Powell…> On Dec 16, 2015, at 12:45 PM, Jim Brandt jbrandt@bestpractical.com wrote:

Hi Nicole,

A couple of answers for you:

  • On versions, RTIR 3.2 runs on RT 4.2, RTIR 3.0 runs on RT 4.0. Crossing versions can cause issues. You can find the version notes in the README for reference:

https://bestpractical.com/docs/rtir/3.2/README.html

  • For setting configuration, you can create a new file named RTIR_SiteConfig.pm and put it in the same directory as your RT_SiteConfig.pm, which should be the etc directory wherever RT is installed. Some details here:

https://bestpractical.com/docs/rtir/3.2/RTIR_Config.html

However, I don’t think there is a configuration option to address your specific question.

On the specific behavior you asked about, are you closing Incidents while there is still a block active? RTIR uses the Incident ticket as the central hub of all activity for an incident, so it’s designed to keep the incident open as long as any linked child tickets are open. However, when you select Actions -> Resolve to resolve an incident, it drops you in an update page will all children also available for status and message updates. This makes it easy to resolve the incident and linked children all at once. Maybe this status update is what’s setting the block as removed?

If you uncheck the block update and try to resolve the incident, you’ll see a message " Status of the Incident left unchanged; not all children were updated." The idea is the incident shouldn’t be resolved if the block is still outstanding. However, you could resolve other child tickets like Investigations while waiting for a block to be removed. You can find some detail here:

https://bestpractical.com/docs/rtir/3.2/Tutorial.html#Resolving-an-Incident

Jim

On 12/15/15 6:25 PM, Nicole Powell wrote:

From the desk of Nicole A. Powell…

Begin forwarded message:

From: Nicole Powell nicolepowell85@gmail.com
Date: December 15, 2015 at 2:45:07 PM CST
To: rtir@lists.bestpractical.com
Subject: Making Changes to RTIR_Config.pm
I am looking for the RTIR_Config.pm file but I don’t have it with RT4.0 and RTIR3.2. I only have RT_Config.pm and Rt_SiteConfig.pm.

The feature I’m specifically looking to turn off I the SetBlockStatus. By default if you close an incident the block is listed as removed but I don’t want to change automatically. How can I do this?

From the desk of Nicole A. Powell…