Guidance on Form usage that creates correspondence + comment

Hi there,

I’m pretty new to RT, still going through the documentation. I’m looking for some guidance on how to achieve an idea (by guidance I mean, where to look at to guide my learning effort). Don’t know Perl (yet) but I’m a quick learner (I hope).

(“client” below is our client for whom we receive government letters on their behalf).

I have:

• a Queue to process incoming notices (like letters from government, etc) with some Custom Fields.
  • also an Article Class to hold articles with internal guidance on how to dispatch those (one article per type of notice). Using Custom Fields on the article I have
    • (Content) some introductory text on “what this is about” to send to our client
    • Instructions on how to internally assign the item
    • Instructions on how to proceed (what the assignee shall do first)

Now, what I would like to do is:

• Create a new Ticket, (we’d open one for each incoming notice)
    • fill in the notice details.
      • Requestor would be our client e-mail here.
    • select the Article that explains that notice type
    • the notice PDF file attached to a field
  • RT would now:
    • Fill the ticket subject using data from the fields
      • “Notice {NoticeTitleField} received on {NoticeReceivedDate} for {ClientName}”
    • Send, as correspondence to the requestor, the Content of the Article and the PDF notice from the custom field.
    • Send, as a comment, to the assignee, the “how to proceed” field of the Article and the PDF notice

So, I think I know:

• I need to work with Custom Fields (done)
  • I need the FormTools Extension to do my Ticket Creation form

I do not know, and I’d appreciate some guidance on how to:

• After the form, but before the “On Create Autoreply **” scrips,
    • I need to fill the ticket Subject, with some string formatting code
    • I need to fill the ticket Content using data from the Article selected in the Form