Custom field display sort & odd workaround

I am new to RT and am very impressed with it. Thanks Jesse & the community!

I’m not a programmer, and I’m not sure how useful this post will be. My apologies if it’s inappropriate for some reason.

I’ve searched through the mailing list archives & have Googled & can’t find a patch or solution for custom fields sorting out of order when displayed in ticket or transaction (comment) pages. I’ve seen some posts regarding DBIx::SearchBuilder and possibly Oracle, but can’t seem to find anything that applies to PostgreSQL, and am not even sure this is related.

Problem:
Custom Fields seemed to display fine when first set up. Then, after modifying them, they display with a different sort order than originally set up. The sort fields in the tables did not change.

Odd Workaround:
After searching unsuccessfully for a solution, I fiddled around with it some and found that appears to be sorting them based on when the custom fields were last updated. So, I tried manually editing the lastupdated fields in the tables to get a different sort order, with no effect at all. However, if I use the web interface to edit each field in the order I want them to appear on the display, it works fine, and appears to work consistently. So, if I have to change or add a custom field, after I’m done, I just go in and edit each custom field in the order I want them to display, by adding or removing a period (.) at the end of each custom field’s description field, and it puts them back in the desired order in the display.

If there is a patch or update I’m missing, or one is coming, I would appreciate a reply post. Otherwise, I hope this helps isolate this issue for a resolution, or at least helps someone else deal with this for now.

Running:

• CentOS 4.4
  • latest RT from head
  • PostgreSQL 8.2
  • Perl 5.8.5
  • DBIx::SearchBuilder 1.48

Regards,

Jack D. Browning