Permission Error message eventhough changes were saved

Hi All,

I’m running RT 3.4.0rc1. It’s running great. I need to run this
version since it has better options with custom fields – allowing me to
have unprivilleged users to see custom fields. However, I have a
question. I’m not sure if I’m doing something wrong.

I gave “Everyone” -> Modify Self Rights. Whenever someone try to modify
any information on his/herself, RT will give out an error “Permission
Denied”. However, the changes did go through fine. Is this a bug ? Or
I’m missing some rights for Everyone

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Mai Le

CONFIDENTIALITY NOTICE: The information contained in this message and
or attachments is intended only for the person or entity to which it is
addressed and may contain confidential and/or privileged material. Any
review, retransmission, dissemination, copying, or other use of this
information by persons or entities other than the intended recipient is
prohibited. If you received this e-mail or its attachments in error,
please contact the sender and delete the material from any system and
destroy any copies.

Hi All,

I’m running RT 3.4.0rc1. It’s running great. I need to run this
version since it has better options with custom fields – allowing me to
have unprivilleged users to see custom fields. However, I have a
question. I’m not sure if I’m doing something wrong.

I gave “Everyone” -> Modify Self Rights. Whenever someone try to modify
any information on his/herself, RT will give out an error “Permission
Denied”. However, the changes did go through fine. Is this a bug ? Or
I’m missing some rights for Everyone

It sounds like a bug. Can you describe exactly which things are clicked
on and typed to reproduce the issue?

Thanks,
Jesse

To reproduce the errors:

Everyone has Modify Seft Rights.

Log on as a privileged user. Click on Preferences. Change any
parameter (ie change nickname from blank to “haha”).
When clicking on “Save Preferences”, Results says:
User 154: Nickname: Permission Denied

Click Home to go leave the Preferences page. Click Preferences again to
go back to the Preferences page and the Nickname field is now “haha”.

I tested it on “Email, Real Name, Nickname, Home numbers,
work,location”. I haven’t test changing the password since we use LDAP
authentication or the other fields but I guess the other fields would
give me the same error.From: Jesse Vincent [mailto:jesse@bestpractical.com]
Sent: Wednesday, January 05, 2005 11:47 AM
To: Mai Le
Cc: RT
Subject: Re: [rt-users] Permission Error message eventhough changes were
saved

Hi All,

I’m running RT 3.4.0rc1. It’s running great. I need to run this
version since it has better options with custom fields – allowing me
to have unprivilleged users to see custom fields. However, I have a
question. I’m not sure if I’m doing something wrong.

I gave “Everyone” -> Modify Self Rights. Whenever someone try to
modify any information on his/herself, RT will give out an error
"Permission Denied". However, the changes did go through fine. Is
this a bug ? Or I’m missing some rights for Everyone

It sounds like a bug. Can you describe exactly which things are clicked
on and typed to reproduce the issue?

Thanks,
Jesse

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Mai Le

CONFIDENTIALITY NOTICE: The information contained in this message and
or attachments is intended only for the person or entity to which it
is addressed and may contain confidential and/or privileged material.
Any review, retransmission, dissemination, copying, or other use of
this information by persons or entities other than the intended
recipient is prohibited. If you received this e-mail or its
attachments in error, please contact the sender and delete the
material from any system and destroy any copies.


http://lists.bestpractical.com/cgi-bin/mailman/listinfo/rt-users

Be sure to check out the RT wiki at http://wiki.bestpractical.com

CONFIDENTIALITY NOTICE: The information contained in this message and
or attachments is intended only for the person or entity to which it is
addressed and may contain confidential and/or privileged material. Any
review, retransmission, dissemination, copying, or other use of this
information by persons or entities other than the intended recipient is
prohibited. If you received this e-mail or its attachments in error,
please contact the sender and delete the material from any system and
destroy any copies.