We want to allow clients to view their tickets on RT, but want to
control what else they are able to view (i.e. disable the ‘Tools’ tab).
I have altered the Tabs file (saving it in the local directory),
pointing its Tools path to a newly created webpage which states ‘this
information is unavailable’. Thus when a user attempts to access the
Tools tab, they cannot see the information. We still are able to access
the actual Tools page, but this requires manually entering the alternate
address into the browser. This method kind of works. But I am trying to
find a way to configure this such that the information denial is user
specific, not global.
I have been searching through the groups and user configurations
attempting to find a way to set access to this information via
permissions, but have not found anything. Is there any way to set up RT
permissions for the sidebar links such that if Joe is logged in, he can
access the Tools page. Whereas if Steve logs in, he receives a page that
states the info. is unavailable?
Thank you in advance,
I apologize if this issue has been discussed before. I’ve been reading
through the archives and have not yet found mention of it.