Is RT 4.4.2 compatible with Percona Cluster?

Hello,

I am new to Perl and RT. I’ve been tasked with upgrading our existing RT 4.0.24 environment to 4.4.2. The existing environment consists of two Apache (2.2) servers running RHE (6.9), Perl (5.10.1) and RT 4.0.24. Only one of the pair is ever in production. The RT database runs on a Percona (Percona-XtraDB-Cluster-57.x86_64) cluster consisting of three RHE (7.4) servers. We use an LDAP plug-in for authentication. To the best of my knowledge, RT is functioning correctly in this environment.

I’ve been attempting to upgrade RT on the non-production Apache server using a non-production copy of the database which is also in the same Percona cluster. I’ve configured the RT_SiteConfig.pm on the non-production Apache server to point to the non-production copy of the database. While the RT code upgrade in non-production (make upgrade) has been successful every attempt at the database upgrade in non-production (make upgrade-database) has been a failure. However, after making a copy of the database on a non-cluster Percona server (Percona-Server-server-57.x86_64), the database upgrade in non-production was a success and RT functions correctly.

When attempting the database upgrade (make upgrade-database) in the cluster, the problem was that it failed a different way each time. Between each upgrade attempt, I would refresh the database to the pre-upgrade attempt version and then try again. Samples of some of the different errors included:

One one attempt:

Processing 4.3.10
Now populating database schema.
[17476] [Wed Dec 13 19:41:55 2017] [critical]: DBD::mysql::st execute failed: Table ‘Assets’ already exists at /root/rt-4.4.2/sbin/…/lib/RT/Handle.pm line 552. (/root/rt-4.4.2/sbin/…/lib/RT.pm:394)
DBD::mysql::st execute failed: Table ‘Assets’ already exists at /root/rt-4.4.2/sbin/…/lib/RT/Handle.pm line 552.
make: *** [upgrade-database] Error 255
[root@rt01 rt-4.4.2]#