Deleting groups, queues, etc

This may be obvious, but the wiki nor the documentation (nor
Google) seem to address it. How do you delete queues, users,
groups, etc.?

Is `rt-setup-database --action dropdb; rt-setup-database --action
init’ the only way to ``fix’’ stuff?

aaraines@pobox.com (Andrew A. Raines)

You don’t. You must disable them. RT doesn’t believe in
revising history. How will a ticket history be able
to document a user’s action if that user doesn’t exist?

-ToddOn Thu, Apr 15, 2004 at 03:41:42PM -0500, Andrew A. Raines wrote:

This may be obvious, but the wiki nor the documentation (nor
Google) seem to address it. How do you delete queues, users,
groups, etc.?

Is `rt-setup-database --action dropdb; rt-setup-database --action
init’ the only way to ``fix’’ stuff?


aaraines@pobox.com (Andrew A. Raines)


RT-Users mailing list
RT-Users@lists.bestpractical.com
The rt-users Archives

Todd Chapman rt@chaka.net writes:

You don’t. You must disable them. RT doesn’t believe in revising
history. How will a ticket history be able to document a user’s
action if that user doesn’t exist?

Ah, OK, I figured it was a philosophy issue.

So let me ask this. If I haven’t built up a history of tickets
yet, is it safe to rename stuff? Can I disable a queue, and then
enable and rename it when I’m ready to use it for something?

aaraines@pobox.com (Andrew A. Raines)

You can rename anything: users, queues, etc. but the
associations are stored by ID and not name.

So, if you rename a queue, all the same tickets will
remain in that queue. If you rename a user, all the
previous actions will be associated with a the
renamed user. Probably noy what you want.

-ToddOn Thu, Apr 15, 2004 at 03:57:26PM -0500, Andrew A. Raines wrote:

Todd Chapman rt@chaka.net writes:

You don’t. You must disable them. RT doesn’t believe in revising
history. How will a ticket history be able to document a user’s
action if that user doesn’t exist?

Ah, OK, I figured it was a philosophy issue.

So let me ask this. If I haven’t built up a history of tickets
yet, is it safe to rename stuff? Can I disable a queue, and then
enable and rename it when I’m ready to use it for something?


aaraines@pobox.com (Andrew A. Raines)


RT-Users mailing list
RT-Users@lists.bestpractical.com
The rt-users Archives