Deleted tickets re-open

Hi,

I am testing RT 3.0.4 and I noticed something I did not expect.
Let’s assume I delete the ticket [RT#199] (status -> deleted). RT tells
me that the status changed from open to deleted. Good.
However, if an email is sent to RT with [RT#199] in the subject line,
the ticket re-appears in RT and all its history is there !
I thought that deleted meant … deleted ! Does it mean that deleted
tickets still exists in RT ?

The other way I found to reveal deleted tickets is by changing the
ticket id directly in the URL:
http://www.yourdomain.com/Ticket/Display.html?id=199

is this correct ? And if this behavior is correct, is there a way to
’really’ delete tickets ?

Thanks,

Vassilios

Vassilios Ioannidis wrote:

Hi,

I am testing RT 3.0.4 and I noticed something I did not expect.
Let’s assume I delete the ticket [RT#199] (status -> deleted). RT
tells me that the status changed from open to deleted. Good.
However, if an email is sent to RT with [RT#199] in the subject line,
the ticket re-appears in RT and all its history is there !
I thought that deleted meant … deleted ! Does it mean that deleted
tickets still exists in RT ?

Yes. It’s still in RT.
By RT ideology you don’t have needs in deleing tickets.

The other way I found to reveal deleted tickets is by changing the
ticket id directly in the URL:
http://www.yourdomain.com/Ticket/Display.html?id=199

is this correct ? And if this behavior is correct, is there a way to
’really’ delete tickets ?

There is contribution for this in inet. It was somewhere on this list.