Custom field date range only allows +- 10 years?

Hi All, I am new to RT world.

In Custom Fields, I can add a field using "Select Date’ type - as I want to capture a date of birth.

However, when used during ticket creation, the date selector defaults to a date range of 10 years past / 10 years future, and there is no way to select an older date; unless I first select say a date from 2012 - at which point the selector range is then ± 10 years from that point.

I cannot find anything in field properties / system config to set or change this behaviour; also cannot find anything in previous forum questions.

Can anyone shed any light on how I can change this behaviour?

Thanks, Colm

Hey,

Huh, interesting, I hadn’t noticed this before!

You can just type in the date that you want into the field, without using the picker.

I’ve just had a bit of a dig. The date selector is the Datepicker widget from jQuery. The default range is +/- 10 years, see: Datepicker Widget | jQuery UI API Documentation . This is instantiated within RT in share/static/js/util.js in the initDatePicker function. The simple approach to allow a broader range of years is to modify the opts hash to have “yearRange: c-110:c+10,” (or whatever). A better approach would be to add support when creating the CustomField to specify the year range.

Cheers,
Andrew

Thanks Andrew - well spotted and traced to source.

For anyone else with same issue, I modified the /share/static/js/util.js file -

Modified the original var opts declaration which was…

var opts = {
    dateFormat: 'dd-mm-yy',
    constrainInput: false,
    showButtonPanel: true,
    changeMonth: true,
    changeYear: true,
    showOtherMonths: true,
    showOn: 'none',
    selectOtherMonths: true,
    onClose: function() {
        jQuery(this).trigger('datepicker:close');
    }

… to become

var opts = {
    dateFormat: 'dd-mm-yy',
    constrainInput: false,
    showButtonPanel: true,
    changeMonth: true,
    changeYear: true,