Changing default account preferences / RT at a Glance

Good day,

I’ve recently deployed RT 4.0.4 in the small business I work for, it is
proving highly useful and productive. I’ve started out by creating a
small group of test users to trial the system while we get it off the
ground.

Now, I am ready to bring more users online. I’ve set all my queue
permissions at group level and am creating new users and placing them in
a group; this is all working swell.

However, I have tweaked some of the columns available and the sorting on
the RT at a Glance screen. Having to manually set these for each user is
proving laborious and prone to error.

On top of that I like to set the “Notify me of unread messages” to Yes.

What I’m wondering of course is, can I set these parameters at the time
of user creation? All my users are the same bar a few Administrator
accounts. It would be great to just create a user and be done with it.

Any advice/pointers greatly appreciated.

-LachieC

Lachie C
VANBAR Imaging
www.vanbar.com.au
p: 03 9417 5666

Good day,

I’ve recently deployed RT 4.0.4 in the small business I work for, it
is proving highly useful and productive. I’ve started out by
creating a small group of test users to trial the system while we
get it off the ground.

Now, I am ready to bring more users online. I’ve set all my queue
permissions at group level and am creating new users and placing
them in a group; this is all working swell.

However, I have tweaked some of the columns available and the
sorting on the RT at a Glance screen. Having to manually set these
for each user is proving laborious and prone to error.

You can edit RT at a glance on a per user basis
(Configuration->Users->The User->RT at a glance) or system wide using
Configuration->Global->RT at a glance.

(also you may make use of custom saved searches or modify the default
ones)

NB: if you or a user already modified his personnal RT at a glance, you
have to click in his RT at a glance preference on “Reset to defaults” so
he will use the system wide values).

For the default column displayed in search results, you can tweak RT_SiteConfig.pm with
the value of $DefaultSearchResultFormat (see RT_Config.pm).

On top of that I like to set the “Notify me of unread messages” to Yes.

just set this in RT_SiteConfig.pm.

Set($ShowUnreadMessageNotifications, 1);

Easter-eggs Sp�cialiste GNU/Linux
44-46 rue de l’Ouest - 75014 Paris - France - M�tro Gait�
Phone: +33 (0) 1 43 35 00 37 - Fax: +33 (0) 1 43 35 00 76
mailto:elacour@easter-eggs.com - http://www.easter-eggs.com

On top of that I like to set the “Notify me of unread messages” to Yes.

just set this in RT_SiteConfig.pm.

Set($ShowUnreadMessageNotifications, 1);

To follow up and drive this home - anything on that per-user
Preferences page is settable globally. More information.

http://bestpractical.com/rt/docs/latest/RT_Config.html

-kevin

Excellent, I knew it would be simple.

Thanks again for the advice,

-LachieCOn 06/03/13 06:27, Kevin Falcone wrote:

On Tue, Mar 05, 2013 at 09:42:15AM +0100, Emmanuel Lacour wrote:

On Tue, Mar 05, 2013 at 10:49:16AM +1100, LachieC - Vanbar wrote:

On top of that I like to set the “Notify me of unread messages” to Yes.
just set this in RT_SiteConfig.pm.

Set($ShowUnreadMessageNotifications, 1);
To follow up and drive this home - anything on that per-user
Preferences page is settable globally. More information.

RT Config - RT 5.0.3 Documentation - Best Practical

-kevin

Lachie C
VANBAR Imaging
www.vanbar.com.au
p: 03 9417 5666