Cannot add documents into RT

You will see, I am new to RT and I was putting it to my liking, when suddenly, I saw that when creating a ticket, I cannot attach a PDF or JPG, since I get an error, I attach an image.

However I can attach; .doc , .txt , .xls

It’s strange, why can it be?

Thanks all.

Are you able to check the server logs for more info?

1 Like

Can’t see anything in var/loc/apache2/error.log and can’t see any other files.

What should it be?

Thanks

Do you have a file size limitation on the uploads? Maybe in the Apache configuration for the FastCGI module (if you’re using that)? There’s might be a default that means small documents upload OK but larger images fail.

1 Like

I don’t remember using FastCGI in apache, should I install it?

In addition, in the RT WebUI itself, this section appears in Bytes.

Thanks

See if you have a mod_fcgid set up in your Apache config. If you do, the RT documentation tells us, the default upload size used to be 1GB but it was changed at some point to 128K.

A quick test might be to make a small image less than 128K (say less than 50K to be on the safe side) and see if you can upload that. if you can, then its likely to be a file size limit somewhere in your web server config. If you can’t then you need to track down where what ever is causing the 500 error your browser is seeing is being logged on your web server to see what is causing the internal error.

1 Like

Hello good morning,

I searched ‘mod_cfgid’ with locate or grep and it doesn’t appear

root@rtserver:~# locate mod_fcgid
/usr/lib/apache2/modules/mod_fcgid.so
/usr/share/doc/libapache2-mod-fcgid/mod_fcgid.html
/usr/share/doc/libapache2-mod-fcgid/mod_fcgid.html.en
/usr/share/doc/libapache2-mod-fcgid/mod_fcgid.xml.gz
/usr/share/doc/libapache2-mod-fcgid/mod_fcgid.xml.meta
root@rtserver:~#

I searched for the ‘FcgidMaxRequestLen’ parameter both with ‘Locate’ and with ‘grep’ and it doesn’t appear in any file, except in /rt-5.0.0/devel/tools/rt-apache2